After a load of hard work, a bit of stress and a lot of support from the team in the Centre for Education Futures (love you guys!) – we have delivered a cancer VR experience that teaches third year science students how UV rays cause cancer. This has been an amazing learning experience for me. I am an expert in cancer and know my science. I am not an expert in developing education resources. However, this experience may have bumped me into ‘knowledgeable’ in the field!

The students are raving about the VR experience, when I attend sessions I hear lots of ‘Oh’s’ and ‘Ah’s’ and there is a lot of interaction and questions that confirm the students are learning. Even better, they are thinking! They are challenging each other and discussing concepts in a way that builds on the information that we strove to teach them with the VR experience.

I can’t wait to crunch the data that we have been collecting to formally evaluate the performance to the cancer VR experience!