I presented my results and the virtual anatomy school at a well attended seminar in WITS university Johannesburg 3rd February

On 18th -19th February I presented a paper on the virtual campus and the convergence of 3D technologies at the 12th International conference on Technology, Knowledge and Society at the Faculty of Social sciences at the University of Beunos Aires.

I now have two honours students working on different aspects of this project

Rachel Gerginis is working on the use of augmented reality in anatomy teaching

Rachel Catterson is working on the use of the Second Life virtual campus for teaching

Ryan Godsell has now got the oculus rift 3D glasses working with Second Life on both the MAC and PC platform. We have specified a computer suitable for running this system and will order it soon (to be placed in the dissecting room where students can access the machine).

I have also repaired the ultrasound machine that Jane pillow kindly sourced from us when RPH was renovating its machines, I have had that repaired (at considerable expense $6000 from my own funds shared with the school) and hope to integrate it with our teaching.  I have made contacts with a Cardiac Ultra-sonographer who will assist us with training for this project.